Recreational Marijuana Legalization Measures Pass in Four States

    Arizona, Montana, New Jersey and South Dakota passed recreational marijuana legalization measures on Tuesday, USA Today reports. A total of 15 states have legalized recreational marijuana or have voted to legalize it.

    South Dakota and Mississippi passed medical marijuana initiatives, bringing the total number of states that allow the legal distribution of medical marijuana to 36.

    Arizona’s measure legalizes possession of up to an ounce of marijuana for adults 21 and older. It sets up a licensing system for retail sales of the drug.

    New Jersey’s measure allows the possession, sale and use of marijuana for adults 21 and older.

    South Dakota legalized the possession, transportation and distribution of up to an ounce of marijuana for adults 21 and over.

    Montana passed two marijuana-related initiatives. One creates rules for marijuana use, including a 20% tax, and allows individual counties to prohibit dispensaries. A second measure allows Montana to set the minimum buying age at 21.

    By Partnership Staff
    November 2020


    November 2020